BOBredell2What is your elevator pitch when someone asks, “What do you do for a living?” I run and gun in the wee hours of the morning to tell stories on the tube for NBC Bay Area.

Describe the path that led you to this career. I’ve always been a performer, having done a lot of theater in high school & college.  TV news requires an element of that as well (the performing part, not the acting.)  But no one was biting on the resume tape I put together during an internship at the NBC affiliate in Tampa.  Just as I was about to give up on the whole TV thing, I got a call from a news director in Fort Myers, Florida who happened to like the shot on my tape of me walking through a barn full of dead chickens.  Funny how that worked out.  What I quickly realized: one’s writing and news gathering skills are so much more vital to the job than how you look.  Or at least it should be.

What are the elements of a successful workplace? People who respect each other’s opinions, even when they don’t agree.  And an understanding that employees do have lives outside of work.  I’m lucky to work in a newsroom that has both those elements.

What is the one piece of technology you cannot live without? My iPhone: a marvelous piece of technology that has allowed me to ditch the laptop.

What are you reading? Operation Mincemeat by Ben Macintyre

If you could, what advice would you give your 20-something self? You don’t know nearly as much as you think you do.  Get your head out of the sand and realize you have a lot to learn.

If you could do anything and know you couldn’t fail, what would you do? Standup comedy.

At Double Forte’s San Francisco office, the conference rooms are named Rock and Roll, Motown, Hip Hop, Mambo, Jazz and Disco. Which name best describes you and why? Disco because I am always trying so hard to be cool.

What’s in your Netflix queue? Jack Ryan: Shadow Recruit, Blood Ties, The Monuments Men, Tim’s Vermeer

