What is your elevator pitch when someone asks, “What do you do for a living?”

I’m a partner at The Bridgespan Group, a nonprofit organization that is an advisor and resource for mission-driven leaders, organizations, and philanthropists. We help scale their results, build leadership, improve their effectiveness and accelerate learning.

Describe the path that led you to this career.

Throughout my career, I have spent time alternating between being an advisor and a doer – ranging from being a senior executive in the wireless industry, to a venture capitalist, to a nonprofit CEO. I have long-admired Bridgespan, and after a couple of rounds of dating, I decided to go for it.

What are the elements of a successful workplace?

Great people, great people, great people. And enough resources to succeed.

What is the one piece of technology you cannot live without?

My iPhone 5

What are you reading?

“The Lean Startup” and “Will in the World: How Shakespeare Became Shakespeare.”

If you could, what advice would you give your 20-something self?

Build and maintain strong relationships. Recognize the role others play in your success and say thank you.

If you could do anything and know you couldn’t fail, what would you do?

I would start a people-intensive business that achieves financial targets and helps our country’s unemployment situation.

At Double Forte’s San Francisco office, the conference rooms are named Rock and Roll, Motown, Hip Hop, Mambo, Jazz and Disco. Which name best describes you and why?

I’ll pick Motown. I just saw Motown the Musical and loved the mix of fun songs (“Please Mr. Postman”) and the ones that inspire you and make you think (“What’s Going On”). I like to maintain that balance of working on really hard problems and having a really great time.

What’s in your Netflix queue?

Whatever my eleven-year old wants to watch. Fortunately, it’s still age appropriate.

