What is your elevator pitch when someone asks, “What do you do for a living?”

I’m the Global Editor in Chief for GamesRadar.com and the US lead for computerandvideogames.com. I manage a global team of writers to produce video game news, features, reviews, etc. This doesn’t involve playing video games all day long, despite what you may think, but I do get to talk about them!

Describe the path that led you to this career.

I had been writing about games and game music since 2002 for multiple websites just for fun, and it didn’t occur to me until about 2006, that I could actually pursue that for a living. I was working in inside sales at the time, and decided to quit, go back to school full time and finish my bachelors in communication with an emphasis in journalism. I was lucky enough to get a contract position at IGN.com, which then led to me being hired full time at GameSpot, and then GamesRadar.

What are the elements of a successful workplace?

A successful workplace needs good leadership and a vision. The culture, the work ethic, and the vision, all need to come down from management for employees to be motivated and satisfied with their work. I’ve been extremely lucky since I’ve worked at places that value work/life balance, and have had supportive managers who have laid out a clear plan and followed through. The no asshole rule is also important. Surrounding yourself with coworkers who have integrity and a positive attitude are also key.

What is the one piece of technology you cannot live without?

Sadly, it’s my phone. Not just for emails but I have so much freedom when I can use Google maps at any time to get anywhere.

What are you reading?

Currently reading Here Comes Everybody: The Power of Organizing without Organizations. It’s several years old but some of the basic concepts still apply. I’m a little late to the party on that one. I’m also reading The Presence Process: A Journey into Present Moment Awareness. It was given to me by my sister who claims that it has changed her life, so we’ll see how this goes!

If you could, what advice would you give your 20-something self?

Don’t eat junk food and exercise regularly, it’s going to catch up to you whether you want it to or not. Also, don’t be afraid to trust your gut instincts and make mistakes.

If you could do anything and know you couldn’t fail, what would you do?

Start my own doggy daycare. That or learn how to code and build things.

At Double Forte’s San Francisco office, the conference rooms are named Rock and Roll, Motown, Hip Hop, Mambo, Jazz and Disco. Which name best describes you and why?

Disco. That sounds like the most fun.

What’s in your Netflix queue?

A mix of Disney animated movies and House of Cards.

