What is your elevator pitch when someone asks, “What do you do for a living?”

I believe my job is to ensure people know, believe in and talk about the products I represent. There are a million ways to go about doing that, of course, but I think it all starts with a rock-solid narrative about what you’ve got and why it matters.

Describe the path that led you to this career.

My degree is in Foreign Policy and I have always been intrigued by the power of diplomacy to make things happen. I also love crossword puzzles and how the right words, in the right place, are the secret to success. Put those two things together, mix with a healthy addiction to time-bound challenges, and PR is the perfect career! For real. I wanted something that would challenge me and I loved that Communications delivers challenges on a regular basis.

What are the elements of a successful workplace?

Trust and respect. For the people you work with and product/service you represent. The smart thinking, big accomplishments and fun all flow from there.

What is the one piece of technology you cannot live without? It feels really cliche to say smart phone. But I’ve never been very original. Most used apps: Sonos, Fitbit, Uber and SF311.

What are you reading?

Laurence in Arabia; Double Entry, How the Merchants of Venice Created Modern Finance; The Yves Saint Laurent-Pierre Berge Collection: The Sale of the Century (This one is a coffee table book and it’s beautiful! I am fascinated with their love story and the amazing art collection they built together).

If you could, what advice would you give your 20-something self?

“Focus on what matters and double down. Let the small stuff go.” Of course, my definition of “small stuff” and “what matters” were different back then, but I still think the guidance holds up.

If you could do anything and know you couldn’t fail, what would you do?

Something where I get to find and spotlight chic and interesting small businesses from around the world. Or Emcee an old school variety show.

At Double Forte’s San Francisco office, the conference rooms are named Rock and Roll, Motown, Hip Hop, Mambo, Jazz and Disco. Which name best describes you and why?

I’ll be taking my calls in the Dolly Parton conference room. In addition to her killer song writing skills, I love that there is so much more than meets the eye with Dolly. She’s smart, sassy and super talented with just the right amount of camp. She knows how to work a crowd AND do business while remaining authentic.

What’s in your Netflix queue?

All the TV shows people have already obsessed over. I’m way behind. So far behind that even the spoilers don’t make sense.

