image

What is your elevator pitch when someone asks, “What do you do for a living?”

I’m the founder and managing director of The Barn Group, an artisan food, wine and lifestyle public relations firm based in San Francisco and Healdsburg. We’re storytellers focused on delivering media results on behalf of our clients. In 2011, Double Forte, an independent PR firm in SF, acquired The Barn Group, enabling us to offer our clients expanded resources along with our same focused approach to building awareness for their brands.

Describe the path that led you to this career.

Even in high school I knew I wanted to be in public relations:  It was the area of practice that eluded me. After studying liberal arts in college I realized a love for history and politics. I headed to Washington, D.C. and was fortunate to land a job in the State Department where I joined the public affairs team and worked on events and media relations. After seven years, I was ready to move home to the Silicon Valley where a recession was coming to an end and start-ups were popping up left and right. Not knowing the difference between a CD-ROM and a floppy disk, a mentor and coach suggested I rewrite my resume to be skills based, which enabled me to sell my media relations skills to the tech world. That was my “Aha!” moment:  Focus on what I can do well and I can do it in any industry. As a result, I’ve successfully tied together my love for public relations with my passions for politics, technology and wine.

What are the elements of a successful workplace?

Trust, laughter, collaboration and respect.

What is the one piece of technology you cannot live without?

My iPad or iPhone… rock, paper, scissors.

What are you reading?

Are you ready? My Twitter feed (#addicted), Flipboard (which means a little bit of everything), Tory Burch Blog, Wine Spectator, Shadow of Night and The Cuckoo’s Calling.

If you could, what advice would you give your 20-something self?

Do not ever be afraid to ask questions.

If you could do anything and know you couldn’t fail, what would you do?

I would be a Grand Slam tennis player.

At Double Forte’s San Francisco office, the conference rooms are named Rock and Roll, Motown, Hip Hop, Mambo, Jazz and Disco. Which name best describes you and why?

Motown… Because it keeps me energized and motivated and I know every word to Rapper’s Delight. (Yes, I’m proud of that fact.)

What’s in your Netflix queue?

The Butler, Scandal and Scrooge (George C. Scott).

