image

What is your elevator pitch when someone asks, “What do you do for a living?” I run Double Forte, a fiercely independent public relations and digital marketing firm based in San Francisco serving national clients in consumer products, consumer and interactive technology and B2B services. We provide excellent service and are really, really good at connecting companies with the people who matter to them. And if I have some more time I tell them: Unlike other firms, Double Forte is set up to mimic the real world of the internal Communications person – all of our accounts are run by people who have been in house, and we offer all the support a VP or Director of Communications of PR will need to handle the things that cross their desk.

Describe the path that led you to this career. Well my bachelor’s degree in history from Carleton College is super helpful. After graduating I worked at Carleton for a year, and didn’t know what to do next, having decided not to pursue further degrees in History or a singing career. My friend Ramona from college told me I should try PR since I am good at doing lots of things at once and telling stories; I said “What is PR?” After I did some research (the book “What is PR?” at the career center helped a lot), I decided this would be a good start to my career. I asked people to help me get informational interviews in Boston – and in one week I had four offers. I took the one that paid the most (by accident) at Cone Communications in the Technology Practice.

What are the elements of a successful workplace? A definite, palpable culture, inclusion and participation from everyone regardless of title, celebration of achievements and of life milestones, constant communication.

What is the one piece of technology you cannot live without? My iPhone (although I took the games off of it.)

What are you reading?

I LOVE Pulse so I can slide through bunches of headlines and dive in when something looks interesting. Always HBR, always NPR/KQED, always New York Times, The Atlantic, a whole bunch of blogs….too much! For recreational reading I lean towards Jane Austen.

If you could, what advice would you give your 20-something self? Don’t worry so much about what other people think.

If you could do anything and know you couldn’t fail, what would you do? Host a fabulously popular radio show on NPR.

At Double Forte’s San Francisco office, the conference rooms are named Rock and Roll, Motown, Hip Hop, Mambo, Jazz and Disco. Which name best describes you and why? Motown – because it’s what I gravitate to when it’s too quiet and I need a little energy.

What’s in your Netflix queue? Midsommer’s Murders, Foyle’s War.

 

