image

What is your elevator pitch when someone asks, “What do you do for a living?” I tell them my day job is public relations and my night job is author/blogger. It boils down to the fact I love to tell stories.

Describe the path that led you to this career. I always knew I wanted to be a writer but I forgot a few times along the way. I started out majoring in communications in college because “writing was no way to make a living.” Then I remembered what I really wanted and changed my major to writing my second semester junior year. I read a lot of classics in a very short period of time. When I graduated I worked as a reporter. But I couldn’t live on $16,000 a year so I went into public relations. I was good at my job and having fun and as a result I forgot I was supposed to be a writer. I remembered, again, a few years ago. Now I do both because “writing is no way to make a living.”

What are the elements of a successful workplace? Integrity, talent, and trust.

What is the one piece of technology you cannot live without? My MacBook Pro. When I travel without I miss it as much as I miss my kids.

What are you reading? Unfortunately, I am about to start The Hunger Game series so that I know what my son is reading. After that I plan to read I Am Malala.

If you could, what advice would you give your 20-something self? Follow your heart but plan with your head.

If you could do anything and know you couldn’t fail, what would you do? I’m doing it – writing.

At Double Forte’s San Francisco office, the conference rooms are named Rock and Roll, Motown, Hip Hop, Mambo, Jazz and Disco. Which name best describes you and why? Rock and Roll – but more apt would be Classic Rock. I’m pretty low key.

What’s in your Netflix queue? A better question for me is what’s in your RSS feed.

 

